Judges Announced for NBF’s Bed Manufacturer and Supplier Awards

Jun 10, 2022 | Awards

The National Bed Federation (NBF) has revealed its judges for the five 2022 Bed Industry Awards for the manufacturer and component supplier categories.

The eight independent judges will decide which NBF manufacturer and supplier members will be crowned winners at the Bed Show gala dinner and awards ceremony on Tuesday 20th September at the Telford International Centre.

The awards are a credible celebration of what is good about the industry and provide a perfect opportunity for bed manufacturers, suppliers and retailers to highlight their achievements from the past year.

The first judge of the coveted Bed Product and Component Product of the Year Awards is Steve Adams, founder and CEO of Mattress Online, one of the UK’s leading online mattress retailers. With over 20 years of e-commerce experience, Steve has transformed Mattress Online into the award-winning, multi-million-pound retailer that we know today.

Joining Steve is Jerry Cheshire, owner of Surrey Beds and former NBF Award winner in the Independent Bed Retailer of the Year category. Jerry founded Surrey Beds in 2000, having worked as the Southeast sales representative for Sealy UK. Jerry is also a published author and presented a workshop about relationships between retailers and manufacturers at The Sleep Expo 2020 in Dubai.

Returning for her second year is Sue Davies, owner of Sue Davies Design Solutions. Sue trained as a surface pattern/textile designer with experience developing mattress ticking and upholstery fabric. She now designs products for various bed companies and is also an agent for BekaertDeslee, assisting in sales, design and new ticking and cover development.

Joining the panel is Paul Farley, trade press editor of Furniture News. Paul joined Furniture News in 2006 and has been its editor since 2008, strengthening the magazine as the longest established of today’s furniture trade titles. A veteran NBF Award judge, Paul also coordinates The Furniture Awards and is the Vice Chairman of the International Alliance of Furnishing Publications (IAFP).

New to the NBF judging process is Rebecca Maloy, beds, cabinet & semi-fitted bedroom cabinet selector at Associated Independent Stores (AIS). Having studied Surface Design at university, Rebecca worked as a textile designer based in Vienna, Austria, before moving back to the UK to start her career in retail. Rebecca has since worked for Dreams and Furniture Village before moving to AIS.

Steve, Jerry and Rebecca will also judge the new NBF member Sales Agent/Rep of the Year Award. Judging follows nominations from NBF Retail Champions (retailers that predominantly stock NBF approved brands), NBF member bed manufacturers, or the sales agent/rep’s own company.

First-time judge Tony Attard OBE DL, CEO of Panaz Group is part of the panel that will choose the 2022 Bed Manufacturer of the Year. During his time at the helm of Panaz, Tony spearheaded the design and technical advancement of flame retardant fabrics for many sectors worldwide. Tony was also recently announced as master of the Furniture Makers’ Company and will bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to the judging.

Joining Tony is David Fitzsimons, director of circular economy consultants Oakdene Hollins and of the European Remanufacturing Council and Richard de Melim, editor of The Furnishing Report, the independent industry news and business intelligence website and newsletter service.  David is currently working with the World Economic Forum’s Manufacturing and Production Council and is a member of a United Nations Environment Programme working group on Product Life Extension. He is also a member of the Strategic Advisory Group for the UK Research Council’s £25m investment programme for the circular economy and, of course, long-time adviser to the NBF’s Circular Economy Committee. Richard has been reporting on the furniture industry since 1999, and has written for over 100 publications, including dozens of feature-length business, property and home articles for several national newspapers.

Tony Attard and David Fitzsimons will also join Paul Farley of Furniture News to judge the Component Supplier of the Year Award.

The two product awards will be judged during the show and a shortlist of finalists for the three other awards will be published before the winners are announced on Tuesday 20th September.

More information on all the 2022 awards, including how to enter for free and detailed criteria for each category, are available now on the Bed Show website: www.bedshow.co.uk/awards . Deadlines vary depending on the award, starting with Friday 22nd July.